Careknet's Blog

Home » This and That » Too much time on my hands…

Too much time on my hands…

Yes,  the Styx song was totally running through my mind (if you need to hear it now like I did, just click on Styx..lol). But any who,

My kiddos

when classes ended last Sunday I thought I would have a lot of time on my  hands; oh how wrong I was.lol We have been pretty busy here and it has been a good kind of busy. We are pushing a month this week that Shane has been gone and we are doing pretty good. We all have our moments and we will continue to have them, but we are working on making the best out of a not so great situation. I have made it to a lunch and coffee with friends, taken the kids to a Spring Fling thing on post through the MWR, gone out with my Drama Queen and another Army wife for manicures and pedicures, started playing with my Cricut Expression Machine, and the kids and I made bracelets today at the Busy Beads & More store.

So the Spring Fling was pretty fun, the kids made spring projects had their faces painted, played basketball and got some cute animal balloons. We went there Sunday after church, cheated for dinner and got Burger King, we got home around 3:30. For some reason after that I decided to totally clean my car out; it could have had something to do with the fact I had a brain fart and forgot to shut the trunk the night before and it did not smell very pretty in there. I have to also thank the folks who were out until after 1 A.M. making all sorts of noise, directly in front of my house for letting me know I left it open or even taking 10 seconds to close it.  The car though now is cleaner than it has been in a long time.

Cricut Expressions

The fun stuff

Love

I have also made a couple of cards with the help of my Cricut Expression Machine and it is so much fun. I made a little picture type frame for a picture I wanted to put up of Shane and I; it turned out kinda cute.lol I have slowly been buying things to do make cards and such, plus I got some books on card making from the library.  The kids are really enjoying making things with me. Shane actually met a lady at Wal-Mart when he was getting me the cricut who helped him pick the right machine and items to use with it. It was kind of funny because her husband works with Shane. She is also a POC (point of contact) as I am within our FRG (Family Readiness Group), she used to own a stamping store and has a great blog to learn from;  Debi makes such beautiful cards. It is fun looking at all the cute ideas to go with the cricut, but little did I realize the scope of all the things that went into making cards; stamps, stickers, punchy thingys and all sorts of fun stuff. lol I just wish I was more creative so I could design my own or at least put colors together better.

My first design

Now today was a lot of fun! We are planning to go back next weekend, as  well as letting the girls bring some friends with them. I had to go downtown today to get new registration stickers for the car, so I tried to think of something the kids and I could do while on

My bracelet

that side of town, to make it more worth the $3.44 a gallon of gas I was using to go over there. So we went to CiCi’s pizza, which we have not been to since we lived in GA and Shane was deployed to Iraq. Shane does not like CiCi’s very much so we do not go that often if he is home. On that same road is a place where Lauren had gone to a couple of birthday parties before and had lots of fun, so I decided we could stop by Busy Beads and Moore. I am so glad we did! The ladies who work there are so nice and helpful, I was pleasantly surprised. I had not realized you could actually go in and make bracelets, necklaces, earrings, broaches or whatever  while you were there; without scheduling a party. We did not realize what time they closed so we just took our time picking beads and stuff out; they did not once rush us out or even get upset we were still working on our bracelets after they locked the   doors, they were making items as well. We each made a bracelet and I spent less than $25, so it is very reasonably priced. The best part was, the kids and I had such a nice time working together; it would have been worth even more money than I spent. I am so excited to go again with the kids and my friends.

My Artist and her new bracelet

Drama Queen and her new bracelet

Sassy Pants and his new bracelet

My Artists bracelet

Drama Queen and her bracelet

Sassy Pants and his new bracelet

Sassy Pants and his new bracelet

Our kiddo’s are pretty talented and they got along so great today! We miss you Shane so much, but thank God we can share these things the kids and I are doing with you through this blog, the phone and web cam! We will be together this year one way or another; cause we are not going to waste an entire year!

I love you Shane!!!!

6 Comments

  1. Kristen says:

    You’re fabulous Cari and the kids are so fortunate to have you here to get them through 🙂

  2. sue says:

    Okay so where is my bracelet~~~ So nice that you are enjoying you kiddos. loveyou

  3. Dang you are busy, aren’t you?? You guys’ bracelets are so cute, and so is your first design! I’m so jealous that you have a Cricut! Those things are so awesome. 😀

    • careknet says:

      Thank you Brittany! We were so busy, and now I am exhausted..lol Three to four hours sleep for a month has hit me, now I all want to do is sleep. I have not even had the brain waves to blog. You can come over and play with my Cricut anytime.lol It is a lot of fun. I am still a big newbie and I waste a lot of paper..but the process is fun. I am looking forward to Saturday night!!

Leave a Reply

A reflection of my life shown in months: click on month to see past posts.

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
